Teacher Forum Scholarship Winners

Teacher Forum Scholarship Winners
Posted on 05/12/2017
Teacher Forum winner

Four members of the class of 2017 have earned the School District of Pickens County Teacher Forum Educational Scholarship. The scholarships are awarded to graduating senior Teacher Cadets from each Pickens County high school, and the seniors selected must have completed a Teacher Cadet course as a junior or senior. Also, the students must be planning to attend a technical college and transfer to a four–year college or to attend a four-year college or university in South Carolina and must be declaring a major in Education in order to qualify. The SDPC Teacher Forum is composed of the Teachers of the Year from each school in Pickens County. Each winner earns a scholarship of $2,500.

"I was impressed with how qualified all of the applicants were, so these winners are truly the best of the best," said Tim Johnson, the 2016-2017 SDPC teacher of the year. “We’re excited to help these students on their first steps toward becoming educators, and we hope they will be here teaching alongside us in Pickens County in the next few years."

The recipients of this year’s Teacher Forum Scholarship are:

Katelynn Muth - Daniel High School
Sarah Campbell - Easley High School

Makayla Rollins - Liberty High School

Sarah Atkins - Pickens High School